Overcoming Pre-Game Jitters and finding Enthusiasm

question

Hey guys,
I’m a long time lurker here on this wonderful forum and it was the first place I thought to come to with this question. This place is always a buzzing hive of creativity and enthusiasm so in my mind there’s nowhere better for this hehe.

Basically, I wanna know how my fellow DM’s out there overcome the pre-game jitters and tap into that well of enthusiasm to really bring people into the game.

I’ve been DMing for a couple years now and I’ve also played in a few games DM’d by my friends and this issue seems to be common amongst us and I assume common in other people too.
We all really enjoy DMing but sometimes the weight of the session ahead can bog you down and crush your enthusiasm so to speak, especially when gaming online as we now have to.

There’s also that issue of enthusiasm. Is there any tried and tested methods you guys know to get your self pumped for a game session?

I’m currently running a Altered State game set in Neo Roma, the last city on Earth, suffering under the deadly regime of a species of aliens referred to as “Angels”. It’s been a real fun time. All the players were involved in the creation of the world and it’s bizarre politics and even on peoples bad days, they show up and we all have a grand old time. That’s all to say, generally the enthusiasm is quite high!

My last session though, we all sat down to play, 6pm as normal and I just couldn’t run it. Breaking through the first barricade of Pre-game jitters was hard enough but when I got down to running npcs and painting the scene my wheels started spinning in the mud.
There was just no enthusiasm or will to commit to the next few hours of good times with my friends and I felt horrible for having them arrange to take time out of their week to play only to have me effectively phoning in the session.