Thinky request. Pirates...IN SPACE!

inspiration
sci-fi
campaign-premise
pirates

Hail shield wall!

Just wrapped up my first campaign as a DM, in fact first campaign ever DM or not! Me and all my friends are brand new to the hobby, and it was a blast. Ran a homebrew fantasy setting. Hobbit with ent powers, a bard inspired by phantom of the opera, pyromancers, shape-shifting herbalists, and more were all part of the cast. Over about 12 sessions, the great evil of Draz (big bad) was destroyed, and each enjoyed a sunset moment with some genuine emotion.

We sat and I asked what next? I could see in their eyes more fantasy wasn’t lighting the fire of fun, then someone mentioned the movie Treasure Planet and they all lit up. They all loved the movie, so that theme will be inspiration for what’s next.

So in a few months, a “space pirates” campaign will kicked off. I am going to really embrace “one night at a time” prep, so I am just gathering pieces for later. I am new to this hobby, so not sure where to look.

Any good resources or ideas you would like to recommend for the mixture of sci-fi and pirates?

Thanks guys and gals, excited to join the conversation here on the forums!

I think WARP SHELL from CORE/WORLDS is definitely a good place to start. That’s going to give you a lot of Sci-Fi flexibility. Especially with the mods provided in the new QUICKSTART 2e. From there, you could also look into @Kindred 's AURORA setting for inspiration. It’s set in the classic days of Piracy, mixed with Fantasy but it’s super compatible with a DIY mindset and wouldn’t take much to reskin most of it for Pirates in Space.

Congrats on the campaign, amigo! :herocoin: