The Sorites Paradox: RPG Edition

question

This is a rather complicated and long-ish read, so I decided to separate the following wall of text into several thematic chunks.

The philosophical bit

Being a philosopher by trade (as if one could trade with that) I excel at very little except (over)thinking. Applying said thinking to “game design” or the question of what gives a game its identity I find myself confronted with a version of the paradox of the heap, also called sorites paradox. There is a positive and a negative version of the paradox. I will only concern myself with the positive version, which is as follows:

(1) A collection of one million grains of sand is a heap.
(2) If a collection of n grains of sand is a heap then so is a collection of n-1 grains.
(3) A collection of one grain of sand is a heap.

Now, oof. What does that have to do with throwing dice and playing ICRPG, D&D or whatever?
If we apply the sorites paradox to TTRPGs and game mechanics, we can reformulate it as such:

(1) A collection of n game mechanics is a specific game (let’s say ICRPG)
(2) If a collection of n game mechanics is ICRPG then so is a collection of n-1 game mechanics.
(3) A collection of one game mechanic is ICRPG.

As far as I can see there’s at least two solutions to the paradox if applied to the example I chose here.

The first solution would be to deny that “ICRPG” is a vague predicate whereas “a heap” is. One could simply say: “Shoo! Away with your logical paradoxes. You are overthinking this.” and declare that ICME p. 5 clearly lists the key system innovations that make ICRPG ICRPG: Turns, Effort Dice, Targets, Clean STATS.
Taking away any of those would make ICRPG not ICRPG anymore. Easy-peasy.
This provokes another question, though: if I took these key system innovations and added other things to them, would there be a point where I would not be playing ICRPG anymore but something else (another “new” game?).