Racing Through a Darkened Forest

Ahoy, Shield Wall! The next section of my home game has a driving mini game in it, so I thought I’d share it with you all. It’s rough, and this is my first time using it, so I’m going to consider this play testing, haha.

Players are driving to a city across a dangerous countryside in an armored wagon that’s not unlike a small train car. Along the way, the road has given itself to a darkened forest as they trundle along. The blackness between passing trees is threatening in its subtle, quiet menace. The inside of the cabin rocks back and forth as the whirring of the engine keeps the quiet away. Charms hang from small leather cords on a hook, the hopes of superstitious Hunters made into silver and tangible. They jingle softly with every bump in the road.

The patience of the black forest ends, and the echoes of shrill, ragged shrieks rip through the silence outside. A loud bang against the metal roof causes the Hunters inside to jump! Claws drag down the sides of the armored wagon from the outside as it picks up speed. The creatures outside scream and scramble as they swarm the party, their black and rotten tendrils trying to pry open the gun-shutters on the sides of the vehicle.

Rounds are chambered, steel is drawn. If the wagon breaks down, they’ll surely die to the swarm outside.

Mini-game time!
While a driving game is going on there will be fierce combat happening in/on the wagon.

• The creatures outside are working to destroy the wagon. The wagon is built using the “Chunks” method. Any damage the wagon takes will go towards disabling it.

• The driving portion is to determine how quickly and defensively the driver was able to navigate the challenges of the road while under assault. If the driving portion isn’t “successful,” the vehicle will take additional damage. Totaled with the damage from the combat, it might be enough to disable the vehicle and leave the Hunters to the swarm.