Determining the appropriate combat challenge

combat
monsters
encounter
monster

I’m a fairly experienced 5e DM. I’m new to IC RPG and I like a lot of what I have seen so far.

I’m considering running some friends and I’m having a hard time figuring out what strength monsters to throw at the group and even how strong the group is. And how strong they would be down the line.

For all that hate 5e CR and AXP gets, it gives you a pretty decent framework at least. The same with character levels. I had never thought of these things before until trying another system (currently this one).

I generally like combat that’s challenging, that has the possibility of defeat, but that ultimately should see the players victorious barring bad dice. I don’t fudge, and if they lose, they lose, but I feel like I don’t even know where to start when it comes to building a combat encounter in this system. The tier groupings and monster creation section help a little but I was wondering if anyone had any other information for me or ways of doing it to help me determine the strength of the players and the difficulty of what I’m throwing at them.

Thanks in advance.

It’s kind of a “feel” thing that you get used to, but it can be reduced to some simple science. A good rule of thumb is this: four one-heart party members (standard 6 point builds) should be pretty evenly matched with four one-heart monsters at an 11 or 12 target.

Accordingly, a night of play might be like this: For a brand new party, try a target of 11 with four one-heart monsters for the first room. For the second room, try the same thing but with a target of 12. For the third room, try a target of 13 with four monsters with one heart and a boss with two hearts. That is a good progression and should challenge them sufficiently, depending on the dice.