Alternative DEFENSE

Greetings Shieldwall!

Here’s a thought I’m kicking around for our conversion of The Sword Marches setting to ICRPG in regards to how DEFENSE, HP, and ARMOR are calculated. I’m curious to see your feedback. Here’s the change:

1. A PC starts the game with 1 Heart + its CON Stat in Hit Points.

2. A PC’s DEFENSE is calculated by adding 10 + the character’s DEX STAT.

3. ARMOR reduces Damage from enemy Attacks by its ARMOR Rating or number. Total all ARMOR the PC is wearing/using and then compare the total amount of DAMAGE to that number. Subtract the ARMOR Rating from the total enemy Damage and subtract the remainder from the PC’s HIT POINTS.

If the Damage dealt from an Attack exceeds the ARMOR Rating by more than DOUBLE the amount, then the Armor’s DEF number is reduced by 1 point. If there is a reduction, the PC gets to decide which piece of ARMOR GEAR is reduced.

Discuss!!!

To ARMS!
Jagger

I’m new to the game, but I love the simplicity of 1 Heart = 10 HP/Effort.

1. I’m a bit of an ICRPG purist, so I tend to keep HPs in multiples of ten.

2. Some folks add dex to Defense, but I caution against it only because Dex is literally used for everything else: ranged attacks, stealth, balance saves, climbing, etc. This method tends to make one guy good at everything AND be hard to hit with 10+Dex defense. It’s even more pronounced in a sci-fi game.

3. ICRPG already has a soak mechanic like this in Blood and Snow.

In any event, play the way you want to play. Lots of folks take the basic ICRPG rules and tweak them in all sorts of great (and sometimes bad) ways. Just know what you gain and what you lose when you make these types of choices.

Thanks for that great feedback Alex! These will, of course, will be vigorously play tested prior to reaching our final version. .

We will take your feedback and consider it a baseline.