Alfheim magic characters for a noob

question
alfheim

I am a complete noob and have just purchased the Master edition rulebook hoping to run an Alfheim campaign. I have so many questions! I hope you friendly folks can help me understand.

Whilst I know I can tweak or add any rule I want, I think I should understand the foundation before making changes that might not play out well.

I’m looking at a starting Mage compared to a starting Fighter. They have a roughly equal chance of an attack succeeding, but the Mages does D10 damage whilst the Fighter does D6 damage. The Mage can attack from FAR using “Fire Missile” which also sets the targets gear on fire causing further damage or causing the target to waste an attack to put the fire out. The Mage seems hands-down better. Alternatively, the Mage closes to CLOSE range and uses “Vampiric Ray”. Now they do more damage and get healed each round. Again, the Mage seems hands-down more effective in a fight - the very place you’d expect a Fighter to shine.

Furthermore, the Mage gets utility spells so the Mage has more to contribute outside of a fight as well.

This feels unfair. Have I missed something in the basic Master Edition rules that make an Alfheim fighter more effective in a fight than an Alfheim mage?

I’m aware of the “Spell Burn” rules on page 87, but I’d expect a mage to be able to make their INT roll quite often, so this would have limited impact. Are there any alternatives?

Whilst I’m here a few more little questions:

The Mage’s starting loot are “Astral Grimoire”, “Memory Ring” and “Master’s Skull”. The first two grant 3 INT spells, but the skull does not grant any and there are no spells on the basic loot table. Does this mean Mage who picks the skull as their starting loot starts the game with no spells?