A bit of satire

For a laugh…:laughing:

Got a decent chuckle out of me. But for southerners and midwesterners this would not have been satire in the 80s.

As a Magnus, I approve of Dillon’s new name of choice.

it wasn’t for me either, at the time, in the northeast. This satire stems from actual comments someone made just last week!

The horrible thing is that people still believe these things to that extreme about D&D.

I live in Oklahoma On the Bible belt, so I know.

In reality, they are the ones who have been brainwashed by the game.

This isn’t all that funny for me.

When I started playing D&D in junior high (1993), the school principal called my parents and told them it was evil. I’m still a little hesitant to advertise that I’m playing D&D in my small town; ICRPG or Savage Worlds just don’t have the same baggage attached to the name.

Jikes, that is crazy stuff!

@Levi I’m sorry that this offended you. The idea was to satirize this ridiculous mindset & belief of the hobby, the games we play, the great creative tool that fuels our imaginations. My mother “implored” my children not to play these games because it was “evil” and would lead to them “living in a fantasy world” …I write fiction for a living. I pay my bills & mortgage through, essentially, living in fantasy worlds. This was a response to her and everyone like her…and it sounds like you’ve experienced that response

Haha, no worries about offending me!

This kind of ignorance (i.e. D&D = devil worship) is something that I still have to deal with somewhat. It sounds like you do too, unfortunately.

People are silly, we each have silly beliefs, that we don’t think are silly at all. It’s when people try to force their beliefs on others that things go sideways.