You Never Forget Your First Time

playthrough

I ran my first ICRPG adventure recently which happened to also be the first time I ran a game. Here is the background and rundown of the some of the “Event”. Warning There are a few spoilers about the Doom Vault Adventure. Some time ago I started buying some DnD 5e stuff as I wanted to get into fantasy RPG’s and DnD "Next’ seemed better than Pathfinder. The amount of information really is overwhelming and my ideas for running a game kind of died. Then I found ICRPG on Youtube. The concepts blew me away. “Get to the table”, use common sense, one target number and the idea of just get to it, don’t over plan. ICRPG Core was purchased and read. I’m a teacher and had students playing DnD at lunch and I had promised a few of them I would run a game but it wouldn’t be DnD. They were weary and had many questions. I just told them not to worry. I gave them character creation info two days before the session.

Session 1

They came characters ready to go and as I set up I had them draw their character or something to represent them on yardstick pawns (see final room pic). I was running The Doom Vault and I shamelessly copied Hankrin's map.
  He's right when he says it's a little therapeutic to draw the crosshatch lines.