Worth buying 2e in 2021 or waiting for Master Edition?

question
master-edition
getting-started

Greetings all,

I’m relatively new to the ttrpg thing.

Had a couple of real life games in the before times but got really into them over lockdown. Including GMing 5e (HotDQ).

I’m finding the system very bloated (both as player and GM) and in my hunt to find ways of making it better came across ICRPG.

From what I’ve seen it’s a brilliant system but while looking through the forum I noticed mention of an upcoming Master Edition so had to ask; before I invest in ICRPG would I be better waiting for the ME release?

Welcome, first and foremost! You’re in for a real treat as you dig around and join in on all the chatter :smile:

As for your question, I personally think you’d be fine investing in the CORE 2e book/pdf and the for certain grabbing the free Quickstart 2e. That should be enough to get you by until Master Edition drops.

Master Edition is going to be a compilation of all the main books and settings in a new cleaned up version (CORE, WORLDS, MAGIC, Blood and Snow, Vigilante City, etc…)

If you grab the 2e PDF on drivethru (or keep a look out on patreon, I’m guessing), Hank is really generous about offering free updates and such so either way you shouldn’t have much to worry about. The Shield wall is a very generous place!

Wait for the Master edition! It’ll be worth it! :smiley:

If you want yo get started with 3e, the free Quick Start on DriveThru is updated to 3rd edition I believe.

If not it is still enough to get a game going. Honestly, what is avalible in the quick start is just about all I use in my games. Aside from what I homebrew.