War | Maker

question

Magandang Araw!

Newbie here from the Philippines. Planning to start a war with my friends.

Could you guys share your opinion or ideas about the War | Maker game?

Thanks…

This is long but I really like War Maker:

If you are a Warhammer player in general, https://onepagerules.com/ is typically the preferred method of tabletop war gaming at the moment (or so I have heard) and Runehammer did a lot of their art.

With that said, I personally like War | Maker because it is more fluid and you create more of a skirmish type environment played over several battles to tell a story. It is more about making the purpose of the war make sense while having a fluid tabletop experience.

You take a sheet of paper and create 3 scenarios two enemies fight to achieve. If you decide that team 1 can win if they achieve scenario 1 objective and said team achieves said objective, then that’s it. War over. If team one does not achieve that objective, the war continues to the next scenario. You are limited only by your own creativity when it comes to designing your own War. The game includes several scenario examples and paper miniatures for you to play.

I prefer the mechanics of War Maker to 40k. You aren’t dealing with STATS you see in something like warhammer. You also don’t have to track wounds.

Instead you build out your skirmish team with TAGS which are abilities that impact your D6 rolls. This makes it less of a ‘you roll to hit – you roll to damage – your opponent rolls to block – remove opponent miniatures’ to more of a ‘you roll to hit – remove enemies you hit.’ Occasionally a TAG will impact your roll to hit result with a possible re-roll but this never feels like a drag on the action; it is still super fast and clean.