Theater of the Mind tips?

inspiration

Hey, everyone! I am preparing to play Ghost Mountain, and rather than learn the ropes of Roll20 (in addition to teaching ICRPG to them), we decided to just use Zoom and try Theater of the Mind style.

I have never done RPGs this way before; I usually use a white erase and stand ins for meeples. I’m going in blind (no pun intended) and could use some tips.

I also hope I can do music well on Zoom too. :grimacing:

For some good advice from @Runehammer, check out his Patreon podcast, Mainframe #21: Theater of the Mind.

That sounds like the best possible resource. Is that a Patreon paywall thing? I’d pay some dollars for that boon.

The first tier is $1 a month and gets you access to all of his podcasts, which are great for GM training.

I think I will definitely do that, thanks!

I usually try to keep obstacles vague with a simple check to overcome. So rather than say there is a fire and multiple ways around/through it, I just say it’s blocking the path and it takes a DEX roll to get through unscathed. Also, I just keep telling people on their turns whether they are CLOSE/NEAR/FAR so they can consider their options. Also, as long as they’re in same room, I let them reach each other like they are NEAR. If outside, I just ask if they are staying together (CLOSE or NEAR) or splitting up (FAR) from each other. Really be descriptive on things that deserve it, like each new area, awesome loot, or creepy monsters. I hope this helps lol

It does! That’s sort of what I was thinking. I think ICRPG with it’s loose Index Card style could lend itself well to theater of the mind style. As a DM I can have my cards out and use those to organize my mind.

I am most concerned with how to do puzzles, as having Treats in my design is what I love to do. So Im gonna have to work on describing Treats in ways that still give players that “aha!” moment where they get to “Do the thing!”