Running for small groups

Silly question of the day I guess. I have very little experience in running small groups.
And to be honest 4~5 players is a small group for me based on where my experience really sits.
8~12 is where I’m at my most confortable. But getting a large group together regularly is not something I look forward to managing ever again.

So @rpgerminator feeler post about running a group of 3 got me thinking…how would I?

To be honest, I have some ideas, and some experience running 1 player…but 3, or 2? It’s never gone well for me.

What advice does the shield wall have for running 2 or 3 players ?

Wow, I would say your experience is unique. I would have a hard time running 8-12 at a table only for fear that the players would get detracted due to the shear wait time for turns to do something. Not to mention i may struggle keeping track of who is who while trying to keep my side of the screen straight.

I’m totally comfortable with 2-5. It’s a good range for keeping everyone involved and allowing characters to really shine and get some connection going.

But I do see GMs who call off a game when they get less than 3 players due to call offs or lack of sign ups.

I’ve never ran for 1 but I know there is a lot of resources out there on the idea (pod casts, blogs, etc.) so presumably some are interested in it. I wouldn’t have a problem with it if the occasion came up.

Back to your OP . . . advice on 2 or 3 players? I don’t know that aside from scaling the threats that you would need to do anything different. Maybe just support the PCs relationship building to come through. And consider giving them some resources for healing if they don’t bring a means.