How to create simple one-shots when starting out?

question
one-shot-adventure
new-gm

Hey folks! I’m new to GMing, and would love to be able to discuss with other people as I go making my silly little stuff! Today, I have a question I’ve been struggling with since starting to create my first IRPG one-shot campaign.

Now, the Core book and the Runehammer videos talk about world building and a lot of great resources, but what I still can’t quite grasp is how to translate this to a 2-3 hour session.

I expect to do a lot of improvising, which seems like part of the fun! Because I’m not planning everything, I just want to make sure the content is limited in my one-shots, especially now as I’m starting out.

How can I:

• Make something fun while limiting the amount of mechanics?
  • Avoid creating a super epic advanced adventure that begs for more sessions?
  • Cut down on mechanics and content without reducing the heart of the story?
  • Use world building techniques for one-shots?

To provide more context, I’ll share where my head’s at right now. My first project is about a demon overlord’s mansion (definitely not inspired by the Overlord anime…nope. :innocent:).

Master of the House
The players are demons, loyal maids and butlers to the demon overlord. They are strong and wield massive weapons. But now the mansion is overthrown by traitors! Fellow servants have started attacking each other, fighting for control over the mansion.

The players might slay the traitors or deal with them otherwise, but something is amiss. They might find out that the servants didn’t do it of their own volition; they were being mind controlled!