Hearts and Hit Points

So, I’m fairly new to ICRPG, and having difficulty wrapping my head around the hearts concept. To clarify, I like the concept- to simplify monsters, and not worry about a few more hit points here or a couple less there- but when combat is still about tracking individual hit point damage, it seems to deviate from that [heart] flavor. Is there something I’m missing, or does anyone else feel the same?

Also, that thought brought along an idea: what if damage was doled out in half- and whole-heart increments? For example, a damage roll of 1-5 is half-heart (or 2-5, with 1 being a 0 h.p. graze); 6-10 whole-heart; 11-15, one whole- plus one half-heart; etc. Has anyone tried rounding the damage like that? I think I want to test that out, but if people already have feedback that’d be great.

First of all, welcome to the shield wall.

Second, you have hearts basically down. All ICRPG does is chunk them up in increments of 10. Yes, you still keep track like normal. If you have one heart (10 hit points), and you take 3 damage, you have 7 hit points left. If you’re a player, that’s not such a difference, except for the fact that most characters never end up with more than 2 or 3 hearts worth. However, if you’re the DM, then keeping track of monster HPs in terms of hearts makes life way easier for you, especially in terms of challenge tuning (ie, this group can probably handle a five heart boss).

As for damaging hearts, sometimes I just draw them in my journal and color them in roughly as players do damage, which is similar to what you are proposing (if the creature takes roughly 7 to 12 damage, as I color the heart in, it dies).

But the real beauty of ICRPG is that it keeps the numbers small, so you don’t end up with the crazy scaling of 5e. Like, who wants to subtract from
88 hit points and have 390 hit point monsters just to challenge a party?