First Commission: C&C Please!

art

Hey there shield wall, this is my first character art commission.
I’m a bit nervous about the finished product because I’ve never done anything like this before. Comments and constructive criticism are welcome, and is the level of work you’d expect from a character commission? Anything missing from the norm? Thanks a bunch!!
This is “Former Royal Alchemist, Professor Shadewell.”
*Edit: Couldn’t get the pic in here the first time. Operator error I’m sure.
*Edit Edit: Final version up. Thanks for all the insight and help!

There is something missing with either the face area or the pose. The face and wraps look flat. Eyes or a more shadowy appearance or a slightly more dynamic pose would help the character really pop.

As for color and line work and all that, it looks great. The bag in particular caught my eye.

Just figure out what gives the character that last bit of dynamism and you will have a fantastic finished piece!

Hope that helps

The face is definitely a bit flat, and maybe a little too big, but this is an AMAZING job for your first time. It reminds me a lot of the Darkest Dungeon art, and I’m very fond of it. Great job. I would definitely accept this as character art.

Work on learning the structure of the face a little bit more so that you can bring that into your work so the face has as much depth as that bag. Keep it up!

Thanks man!
He definitely wanted something inspired by Hellboy/Darkest Dungeon, thus the proportions off a little bit for the comic effect. I kind of feel the same about the face; his character is kind of a shadow thing and he said he keeps it wrapped like the invisible man. It’s been a bit of a challenge in some unexpected ways for a first one, haha.
Always improving, so thanks for helping me see some of this with fresh eyes. :slight_smile:

Update: Still trying to dial it in. Thanks for that insight!
22%20AM