Dexterity doesn't add to Defense?

rules

I’m new to ICRPG and recently bought master edition. So reading the rules on Defense, you add Constitution and any gear (armor) to Defense which essentially becomes your “Armor Class” of 10 + Defense. But why don’t you add your dexterity bonus like most other D20 systems? If my elf is nimble and quick, shouldn’t that make it harder to hit me? And usually constitution adds to HP, but in this case how does it contribute to defense? Is it like toughness where you can “take more damage” before actually taking damage “hit points”? I’m not sure I understand the concept.

Thanks.

ICRPG is flexible enough that you can change it bothers you enough, or some enemies attacks involve dodging so you use DEX instead of DEF. You could have it where no stat affects your DEF and its all based on your loot. The way I look at it is that dodging, blocking, ignoring the pain all use energy and CON is there representation of how much stamina you have.

I think the design concept was DEX aided in attacks, and since CON doesn’t add to HP, it wasn’t contributing much - so, since DEX already had the love of the archers, STR, INT, and WIS all were the primary attack/casting stat of the other classes, and CHA was important for NPC interactions, CON needed a more well-defined role; enter CON as the default defense stat to rescue it from ICRPG dump stat status.

The rationale is because high Dex characters already get a ton of benefits: ranged attacks, climbing, keeping balance, making dodging types of saving throws based on Dex. To that end, Dex doesn’t also add to armor because Con gets a bit more love in ICRPG in terms of recovery rolls and the defense bonus.