Core book spells and magic- Can someone outline how these work

Hello, I’m new to ICRPG, and am learning about it by watching videos and reading through the Master ed.

I’m a little lost on how the basic or code magic system works. Does a magic user start with a basic number of spells? Can they pick any off the list on Pg 46-49? I saw in the more advanced system there is a cost for casting but at this core level is there a cost? or can a mage cast as much as they want?

Is there a spellbook required for mages? How does that work? I assume it takes up an item slot. How do preist collect spells?

I know it’s a lot of questions, sorry. Maybe someone can direct me to a YT video or a page in one of the book that explains it a bit better.

Thanks!

Core (Player’s Guide) Spellcasting:

• Spells are first given via Starting Loot. More spells can be learned in-game, or gained via LOOT or MILESTONES.

• Spellbooks are not required. Spells do not take up inventory slot in this edition (1e they did).

• To cast any of these SPELLS, roll d20+INT or WIS (the list the spell is in dictates which) against the TARGET. If you succeed, you cast it. They have no cost. They can cast as long as they can pass the spellcasting Check.

• Priests collect spells the same way Mages do: LOOT. ICRPG is a LOOT-based game and spellcasters are included in that.

MAGIC (chapter) spellcasting:

• Spells do have a cost to cast, because they have POWER levels. That MAGIC system also allows for picking INT and WIS spells at the same time, which the Mage and Priest cannot do from the start.

• MAGIC is a completely alternate and optional system. What’s in that chapter does not apply to the Player’s Guide.

In my games, spells are loot. I like to treat them as scrolls, usually, but they don’t crumble upon use. Anyone can use them, not just mages. A priest can cast an INT spell, and a mage can cast a WIS spell.