Combat with hits instead of damage

hearts
combat
hits

ICRPG is an invitation to tinker and tweak and DIY things your way – that’s why it rekindled my passions :slight_smile:

VDS uses “hits” (or “1 hp” + armor, to be more exact), but I’d like to go a different route. To keep the basic structure of ICRPG intact, I convert hearts to “hits”, on a 1:3 basis. One Heart = 3 Hits.

Weapon Damage is converted with a decent amount of handwaving; roughly speaking, damage between 1d4 and 1d6+2 takes away 1 Hit, and everything above is 2 Hits (or even higher if the potential amount of damage is outrageously high). Rolling a natural 20 adds +2 Hits instead of 1d12 damage.

I have been thinking along the same lines for one of my own designs. I can see how this could certainly speed up combat.

Absolutely! In my FKR games, I have been using hits instead of hp for almost 20 years. It takes a bit of tension out of the game, though, but I think its speed makes up for it.

Change hearts to 6 HP.
Weapon damage = roll on a d12. 1-3 = half heart damage, 4-6 = 1 heart of damage, 7-9 = 1 1\2 hearts, 10-12 = 2 hearts damage.
Similar to hits idea.

Luther, the whole reason, for me personally, to use hits instead of hp is because I wanted to get rid of damage rolls.

I’ve utilized hits in 5e, where I thought the game was too slow. I haven’t found hits to be necessary in ICRPG. If anything slows down gameplay at my IC table, it’s the different effort dice.

how slow is regular ICRPG for you? dang. how much faster are you making the game for all this work you are putting in. Most gaming systems are like a new car today, they are very specifically engineered. Start swapping out stuff (especially HP) and you can mess everything up. Its kinda an all or nothing with most RPG systems.